Home Page > About > About HUMS 



About the University

Hormozgan University of Medical Sciences (HUMS) is among medical universities which was founded after the Glorious Islamic Revolution of Iran in 1987. Under the name of Nursing and Midwifery in 1987, this university started with 98 students of nursing and midwifery. One month later in the same year, school of medicine was founded and started with 140 students. Now HUMS has seven schools (Medicine, Dentistry, pharmacy, Nursing & Midwifery, Paramedical and Health), more than 3320 students in 16 fields of medical sciences and 300 academic staff. Currently, HUMS has good location, modern equipment and skilled manpower devoted to the training of students and professionals in the field of medical science and providing a range of health services in the province.

At A Glance

8 Schools
15 Hospitals
9 Research Centers
12 Health Centers
About 300 Academic Members
About 3320 students



Hormozgan University of Medical Sciences has seven vice chancelleries: Vice Chancellor for Education, Vice Chancellor for Research, Vice Chancellor for Treatment (clinical affairs), Vice Chancellor for Health, Vice Chancellor for Cultural & Student Affairs, Vice Chancellor for Development & Resource Management and Vice Chancellor for Food & Drug.




There are 14 hospitals affiliated to HUMS: Payambar Azam Educational, Therapeutic and Research Complex, Educational, therapeutic and research pediatric centers, Hazrat Abolfazl Hospital in Minab city, Shohada hospital in Bandar Lengeh city, Payambar Hospital in Qeshm, Rostamani Hospital in Parsian city, Imam Ali Hospital in Rudan, Farabi Hospital in Bastak city, Fatemeh Al Zahra Hospital in Haji Abad city, Khatam al-Anbia Hospital in Jask, Niapour Hospital in Bandar Khamir city, Pars Hospital in Abu Musa, Imam Sajjad Hospital in Sirik, Baqiyatallah Hospital Bshahgard city. In addition, HUMS has the Center for Medical Accident and Emergency Management.